Creations

Today I decided to add a new category to my blog called “Creations.”  I know, I know, another blog about DIY crafts, fashion, cooking and the like!?!?  Well, yes, actually but I’m rather excited about it. 

I’ve always loved to write so it’s something I naturally gravitate towards.  However, recently I’ve been discovering why it is I enjoy writing so much and I think it has to do with the following things:

1) Writing has to do with creating.  God is the ultimate creative genius.  So when we create things: writing, art, music, food, etc. we are “sharing a hobby” with God and joining Him in something He loves to do. 

2) Some of the best writing is about the common, yet deep things in life like love, happiness, relationships, adventure, beauty, heartbreak, and finding meaning in our lives.  I’ve been discovering lately how God wants me to find each teenie tiny part of my life significant and meaningful and worth writing about. 

3) “Writing is a form of personal freedom.  It frees us from the mass identity we see in the making all around us.  In the end, writers will write not to be outlaw heroes of some underculture but mainly to save themselves, to survive as individuals.” ~Don Delillo.  Agreed. 

But writing is just one form of creating and in the past 8.5 months of marriage I’ve found myself excited about things I’ve never cared too much about before or I’ve found myself needing to get excited about those things more.  Such as creating meals for my husband that he can swallow and making our home a place that is cozy and welcoming to others.   

So I guess you could say I hopped on the bandwagon.  I guess I’d say that it’s about time!

