Never Say Never…one day you just might see this movie too

I have never quite outgrown my tweens.  I’m not sure why, but this is a fact.  I’m currently twenty-four, married, work a full-time job and still get excited over the occasional teeny bopper boy-band, or in this case, Justin Bieber’s blue eyes and cute haircut.  Luckily, my husband agrees that if they are under the age of eighteen, me thinking they’re cute is not really a threat…it’s just a little strange.

But anyhow,on this rainy Saturday afternoon, my friend Danielle and I drove out to the Arroyo Grande cinemas to see the new Justin Bieber movie, “Never Say Never.”  I had expected the theater to mostly be filled with girls ranging from elementary to middle school and their moms, and I was right.  But just like the concert at the California Mid-State Fair in Paso Robles last July, there was a good number of college-aged women and handful of men represented.  (If you didn’t get a chance to see my review of the Justin Bieber concert for the SLO Tribune’s blog last year, scroll down to the next post or click here.)

You must admit, that whether or not you personally enjoy this style of pop music or showmanship, America at large is becoming increasingly obsessed with child-talent and making overnight superstars out of them.  Justin Bieber is a prime example of this trend.

Overall, the movie resembled an old-school VH1 Behind the Music series with tons of concert clips, fan interviews, and footage of Justin on his tour bus, backstage and back home hanging out with his family and friends in Ontario, Canada.  The family home movies of him growing up playing drums, playing guitar on his couch at three years old, and performing in local talent shows was some of the most sentimental moments.  And for $12.50 we got to experience all this in 3D wonder.

When the movie started every girl in the audience started squealing and clapping and Danielle and I looked at each other like, “Oh my gosh, what did we get ourselves into?”  But the thing that really makes you want this kid to succeed career wise, and succeed in not getting sucked into the Black Hole of immorality that Hollywood is known for, is that his and his family’s faith in Jesus is evident throughout the film.  Clips of his whole crew praying before concerts in Jesus’ name, his mother sitting on his bed with him praying for full healing of his vocal chords the night before his sold out show at Madison Square Gardens, and especially Justin and his friends thanking God for their Hawaiian and Pepperoni pizzas at a local eatery.  C ‘mon, how can you not love him?

All I can say is that this movie was highly entertaining, and I not-so-secretly hope that someday my daughters will want to go to these kind of concerts so that I can continue to have an excuse to go too.

Leave a Reply

