The Proverbs 31 Challenge

I finished chapter three in Radical today.  It’s been a slow read because I can’t seem to get through more than half a chapter without needing to put the book down to contemplate some things. 

Reading a book like this is a strange process.  As I read it I find myself following each sentence with an internal “amen!”  But then quickly realizing that I, in reality, don’t know what I should do to actually make my life line up with what I’m being challenged to do. 

I want to go to the nations with the gospel, I want to do more as a Christian than just go to church, and I want to honestly live like God is the only important thing  to me and not care about my belongings.  But as I look at my day-to-day life and the things I spend my time doing I feel like a lot of times I’m missing the point.   

I work a full time job so with my weekdays 8-5 spent at a desk, I find myself trying to fit one thousand and one things into my 5-10pm weekday slots and of course my weekends.  Things like laundry, dishes, household cleaning, grocery shopping, additional shopping, attending cell group, meeting up with disciples, hanging out with friends, learning how to cook new recipies, reading, prayer, writing, maintaining my nailpolish, organizing our guest room (yes, still), showering, church, thinking of new ways to reach out to people, actually reaching out to people, staying on top of our finances, getting quarters from the bank for laundry machines, quality time with my husband, running or exercising, doctors appointments, oh yes and the 72 hour project of assembling our new bed from World Market and now disassembling it because the defective frame doesn’t hold the weight of 300 lbs worth of people.  Sigh.  I know, I know, and I don’t even have kids yet. 

I read about the Proverbs 31 wife today and I felt rather comforted.  She sounds busy.  And not only is she busy, but she is busy with rather mundane things that the Bible deems as worthwhile and honorable.  I’m still praying about how to incorporate more missional living into my daily life because despite what I have going on in my world I want to continually grow into a person who is outgoing, loving, and intentional with people I meet.  Yet, I suppose this week I’m also seeing the benefit of placing effort on becoming effective, efficient and strong for my husband and someday for my cute little blonde-haired family as well.  “Life’s a dance, you learn as you go,” as one country songs puts it.  So thank goodness that there’s grace as I do this high-energy Mambo.

After reading Proverbs 31 I rewrote it in my own words.  I’m by no means accurate in Bible translation but I sometimes find it helpful to put some scriptures into my own words.  It helps me own it and take it to heart.  Here’s what I came up with:

Proverbs 31: The Wife of Noble Character

“A woman like this is very rare and valuable; of the highest value

Her husband believes in her abilities and he has everything he needs

She brings him good not harm all the days of her life

She makes wise choices and provides food for her family

She gets up early

She takes care of those around her

She is educated and makes wise financial decisions; She invests in the future

She thinks a step ahead

She’s a hard worker and shoot, girlfriends got some muscle tone!

She makes sure her family has the basics and she’s skilled in many things

She has room in her life for the poor and the needy

When difficult circumstances arise she doens’t worry about her husband and children because she’s covered them in prayer and has trained them up in the Lord

She decorates her house and takes care of her appearance

Her husband is respected by other men in society

She does kind and thoughtful things for others

She fulfills important roles that benefit her community

She is clothed with strength and dignity

She can laugh at the days to come because her attitude believes the best about the future and her trust is in the Lord

She is wise and can give good and helpful instruction

She takes responsibility for what happens in her household and she doesn’t become lazy in doing so

Her children have wonderful things to say about her

And her husband also; he compliments and praises her

They will say she is the best wife and mother

Charm is cheap and beauty will fade away but a woman who fears the Lord will grow into all of these things

Let a woman like this receive a healthy, loving family and close relationships

And let her be known as a woman of love.

 

So here’s to the Proverbs 31 Challenge and to becoming more missional.  Anything for the glory of God!

One thought on “The Proverbs 31 Challenge

Leave a Reply

