Answering To The Call

***This photo is of Kevin & Kristi Kneeshaw of Campus Crusade for Christ and their family.

This morning I had the opportunity to sit in on a meeting and devotional time with the President of HCJB Global, Wayne Peterson.  I’ve been hearing a lot obout this worldwide ministry lately seeing as after reading the book Radical by David Platt, my boss at the radio station, the Executive Director, decided to lay down his role here at K-LIFE FM to move to Colorado Springs to work for HCJB.  So I will be getting a new person to report to and my boss and his wife will be helping plant Gospel-preaching Christian radio stations all around the world, specifically in places where less than 2% of the populatoin is Christian.     

This morning at the meeting, Wayne shared a few stories about what’s happening around the world in places like Nepal, Indonesia, Central Asia, Northern Africa and the like.  I was captivated by what he was saying as he explained the present condition of specific locations, but also the fact that the Church is growing below the radar in many areas.

Then I got to work, sat down at my desk and heard my phone chime over and over as thirteen new Twitter update texts poured in from Paul Washer, who is currently overseas preaching the Gospel. (If you would like to get Paul’s tweets sent to your phone you can choose to follow him on Twitter and then click the little phone icon just to the right of the “Follow” button.)   Paul happens to be in one of the places I heard about this morning and his updates did a funny thing to my heart that I’m still trying to decipher. 

I don’t know about you, but doesn’t the mission of Jesus to “seek and save the lost” (Luke 19:10) and to “go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation” (Mark16:15) twist your heart up so tight that you can barely breathe?  Doesn’t that call make you sick to your stomach as you plan your next trip to Disneyland?  Doesn’t it cause your life to flash before your eyes as you imagine yourself actually considering your life worth nothing, heading out into the wilderness and climbing to the heighest heights with God for His glory?

Jon and I had a tearful conversation a couple weeks ago.  It was a Saturday morning before we headed out for Adopt-A-Block and I was reading a chapter in Radical in the big chair in our living room while Jon was skimming the paper.  And it hit me.  I was reading about how this one retired couple decided to use their retirement to feed hungry people in Africa versus moving into a gated community and playing golf every afternoon.  And like I said, it hit me.  Because it was cool that that specific couple had decided to sacrifice their comfort in retirement to serve others, but the thought that struck me was:

I hope it doesn’t take me until I’m retired to sacrifice everything to serve Him.

That’s a scary thought, right?  That maybe forty years from now I will finally detach myself enough from my stuff, my ambitions, my life-securing, life-building tactics in order to answer to the call, so to speak.

I keep wrestling with this topic lately, if you couldn’t tell, because I’m excited about what God is doing in my life in the here and now and I can feel Him growing me in deep, meaningful ways.  Yet in my heart of hearts I’m seeking to know, really know, whether I am truly living out the call of Jesus in my life as fully as God would have me to.  It’s scary.  Because contrary to popular new-age belief, we only get one life to use to make much of Him.  That’s it.  And when it’s all said and done we will stand before the King of all Kings to give him a report about our lives.  What did we do with all that he gave us?  (Matthew 25) 

Anyhow, I’m not sure how and where God will direct my steps in the coming days and years.  I’m not sure if I will continue to serve Him here in the US, somewhere else, or both.  But I am praying today that He would do whatever necessary to help me to embrace his Word, build my life upon it and make me ready to respond at any moment to his call; whether it be reaching out in friendship to my neighbor a few doors down or whether it means buying a one-way ticket to Nepal or a similarly remote place that I cant locate on a map.

Below are Paul Washer’s tweets from this morning.  I hope you like them.  Or better yet, I hope the Holy Spirit speaks to your heart through them like He did to mine.         

“I was in Lucknow India last week and in Nepal this week.  Right now I am in Pokhara, Nepal.  Tomorrow we head to Kathmadu. 

The conference in Lucknow was a blessing.  I preached eleven times to many hungry missionaries.  God seemed to help and I was filled with joy. 

God has given me a heart for India & Nepal.  I am also burdened for Tibet, China and Mongolia.  We must reach these peoples with the Gospel. 

After Lucknow, we met with our new missionaries in Nepal  What a joy!  Some are mountain men.  They remind me of my beloved Peruvians. 

I preached 12 times in Nepal and the men were very receptive. More explanation and illustration was needed, but God was faithful in helping.

In both places, I preached on the Gospel, true conversion, biblical assurance, and the minister’s family. 

Yesterday, Matt and I went looking for tigers on an elephant.  It was an adventure.  I am both disappointed and glad that we found no tigers.

I witnessed to a Sikh this evening.  I had no idea how he would respond, but he listened until another came into the room.

I wish I was 20 years old and could throw my life away in these mountains.  I pray that God might raise up young preachers to go forth. 

Why do so many young men spend time blogging about theological nuances while the world dies without the Gospel?  Why?

The kingdom needs men who rely upon only a few simple weapons: Bold preaching of the Gospel, intercessory prayer, and sacrificial love.

Please pray about Asia, the Middle East, and the 10/40 Window.  They present an opportunity to live and die for something eternal.” 

I beg you to pray about going to the places where there is no Gospel witness, but only if you have a Gospel witness.”

 Side note: I’m not opposed to Disney Land.  I don’t think it’s bad.  I just think God is trying to get through to me lately about certain things.  Please enjoy fun times at Disney Land as you see fit.  🙂

Leave a Reply

