Controlling the Remotes

The problem:  I started noticing it a few months into our marriage.  Of all the books I read about the differences between men and women, I was never adequately prepared to deal with the plethora of remote controls that threatened to take over my coffee table and my life.  

Jon assured me that it wasn’t that he didn’t care, but rather that it was a biological difference between us.  God had made space in my brain to care about things like the remotes being put away at the end of a day, while Jon hadn’t been so blessed, or cursed, depending on how you look at it.  But I still needed to find a solution to the clutter.  

The Solution:  Mod Podge, playing cards, and a $2 tray I found at the Goodwill.

I love crafts, but I tend to gravitate more toward what I find easy to make.  Mod Podge is easy.  It’s fun.  And you need no skill whatesoever.  My kind of craft!

So, I painted the sides of the tray with some red paint.  Then, I covered the bottom of the tray with Mod Podge before laying down the playing cards.  Next, I covered the tops of the playing cards with more Mod Podge, creating a smooth, thick layer of Modge Podge over the cards.  Finally, I grabbed a cold Diet Coke from the fridge and waited for my masterpiece to dry.

Once it was dry, I lovingly placed the four remotes into their new home.  They smiled, because they knew from now on they wouldn’t get lost between the couch cushions.

And we all lived happily ever after!

5 thoughts on “Controlling the Remotes

  1. God didn’t plan for multiple remotes because when major issues are at hand, God thinks and focuses in a singular, non-dualistic manner, ie:
    One Universal God, one universal remote.
    Makes life much simpler.

  2. You are so cute 🙂 and creative! I love your remote tray and I know your remotes love you for giving them such a stylish home!!

  3. Pingback: DIY: Playing Card Crafts | Broke-Ass Stuart's Goddamn Website

Leave a Reply

