Blush All Day

I love products, especially really good ones that actually do what they promise to do. 

The other day I went into Sephora to waste an hour while Jon was at an evening class.  Sephora definitely isn’t the cheapest place to waste time, but it was fun.  I went in on a mission to find a new blush and a new blush brush.

I was greeted by a guy who offered to help me.  I’m not used to guys giving me make-up advice, but in all honesty he knew what he was talking about.  I explained that I was looking for a new blush because my Walgreens version kept getting all splotchy by the end of the day due to my oily skin and my hair constantly brushing across my cheeks.

He helped me find the blush of all blushes, or “rouge” if you’re into calling it that.  Say hello to Tarte clay blush.  It’s Amazonian, whatever that means, and it promises to stay put on your cheeks for 12 strong hours.  I liked the color called “Tipsy”, but there’s 8 to choose from.   

 

Then my make-up guru helped me find the perfect brush to go along with it.  After viewing a handful of brushes I went for the Sephora brand angled brush.  The angle makes it easy to apply the blush onto the right area of your cheek bone, it’s really soft and it was the most inexpensive out of the bunch of quality brushes. 

However, I did receive a talking to for not washing my make up brushes often enough.  The point was driven home by a graphic story about a girl who came in with white stuff in her brush because she had never washed them…it ended up being some nasty bacteria that had multiplied like crazy.  Makes you wanna wash your brushes, doesn’t it?  Well if so, all you need is a little warm water and shampoo.  Nothing fancy.

Oh, and off topic, but Jennifer Aniston finally has a signature scent that is completely lovely.  Light, clean, pretty.  Just thought you might want to know.  Do you have a signature scent?

One thought on “Blush All Day

  1. Love it! I just washed my bare minerals brushes last week for the first time and it was crazy how much makeup came out of them! That’s nasty about the bacteria in the girl’s brush…it’s mental pictures like that that will help me take better care of my brushes 🙂 You are such a great journalist, thanks for sharing fun stories about normal life!

Leave a Reply

