Mother’s Day Ideas

Mother’s Day is about a month away, which for me, means that it’s time to begin thinking about what I’d like to do for my mom this year.  I don’t know about you, but last minute gits are never as meaningful or fun as well thought out in advance gifts that I get to put a little heart and craftiness into.

However, my mom is usually happiest with a pedicure gift certificate or some dark chocolate, so after some contemplating I may end up giving her one of the “usuals.”  But nonetheless, its fun to think about some new crafts that I can do.  Hope this helps inspire you! 

Doily Wall Art

I really like this doily wall art idea, especially if your mother or grandmother has a doily that they wanted to preserve.  With a little fabric dye from Michael’s you could even dye your own into a fun color and create a meaningful piece of family history.

Fabric Flower Collage

This project looked fun and fairly simple overall.  I really like simple. 

 

Chalkboard Flower Vase

I made chalkboards for the women in my family last Christamas by buying cute frames, then covering the glass with chalkboard paint.  However, for Mother’s Day I love this idea of making Chalkboard Flower Vases (or pencil holders, or kitchen spoon holders, etc.).  This gift is cute and something that mom can decorate to fit any holiday or occasion. 

Decorative Mirror

I like the idea of taking something that your mom may collect (such as sea shells, bottle caps, ticket stubs, old jewelry, pictures you drew as a kid, etc.) and making it into a piece of art.  My mom likes to cut out funny cartoons from the newspaper so maybe I can make her a magnetic board so she can display them fashionably.  All you need for this project is a sheet of steal and some paint or fabric.

Mosaic Garden Stepping Stone 

And for those of you who aren’t afraid to roll up your sleeves and deal with some concrete mix, you can create a mosaic garden stepping stone.  Whether you personalize it or just make a fun pattern these are great gifts for a mom who likes to spend time outside in her backyard or in her garden. 

Happy creating!

One thought on “Mother’s Day Ideas

  1. Pingback: Oh Happy May! « World At The Wayside

Leave a Reply

