Memorization

In the past week Jon has begun the tedious process of memorizing information for his classes, because we all know that success in the higher educational system is as much about memorizing flashcards as is is about comprehension. 

So Jon has been making flashcards after each class and then studying them in the evenings after work and school.  Sometimes I even see them sitting on his bedside table and he claims he looks them over before going to sleep at night.  A likely story…but nonetheless memorization is hard.  And what’s even more difficult?  Retaining that information days, weeks and especially years down the road. 

Lately I’ve been trying to do some memorization myself.  I’ve been attempting to memorize some scriptures because I really want to allow God’s Word to be my words and thoughts in incresing levels.  However, I’m having a hard time too.  I remember memorizing some Bible verses in college.  My strategy then was to write them out on 3×5 notecards and as I walked between my classes I would occasionally pull them out and read them over, quizzing myself at the end of each session.  But alas, I think I can only recal one or two specific cards out of the mound.

So, Jon and I are looking to get a little artsy in our strategy and so far I think it’s helping!  We have resorted to drawing pictures! 

Makes sense I suppose because I think I have a better visual from my childhood of page 3 in The Cat in the Hat than I do of those holy flashcards from four years ago. 

So here’s the verse I am working on this week:

The fruit of righteousness will be peace;

The effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence forever. (Isaiah 32:17)

 

I like this approach although I’m not sure how well it would work for anything longer than a sentence or two.  What are your tricks for memorizing scripture and information in general?  Please share and possibly help Jon get all A’s!  🙂

Leave a Reply

