My Favorite Wall

I recently redecorated a wall in my living room because after skimming through the latest Ikea catalog I decided that my current wall arrangement was ugly.  I didn’t take a before picture at the time because I was in such a rush to tear down what was there and start fresh that it didn’t cross my mind.

But after a few days of hanging out in a creative slump it all came together nicely.  Now I’m happy to say that this is officially my favorite wall in our apartment.  And the best part is, I only used items and supplies that I already had laying around (most not-so-surprisingly emerged from the Dark Cave…excuse me, I mean the guest room). 

Here’s what I did:  

  

Look at that fabulous wall!!! 

To start, I grabbed a few old books because if there’s one thing I learned from spending so much time on wedding blogs last year it’s that books do not always belong lined up on a shelf. 

A few of these I found at a used bookstore in Downtwon SLO last year and the big green book on the bottom happens to be the Guest Book from my wedding.  Really, it’s a book highlighting California’s National Parks, but we bought some sharpies and had our guests sign the pages.  We hoped it would remind us to go on some great adventures over the years. 

Next, the picnic basket is something Jon accumulated some time ago.  When I found it I asked him why he had never used it to take me on a picnic.  He didn’t know.

The colorful candle stands were a wedding gift from my little sister Devan. 

And the wire basket-turned-votive-holder is something I picked up at a nearby thrift store.  I heart thrifting.

I didn’t get a good close-up picture of them, but those beautiful sturdy wooden shelves were a dollar a piece at a yard sale.  Steal!

I hung one of my engagement photos about level with the chair to fill in the empty wall space.  We still haven’t gotten around to framing any wedding photos yet, but I love the artistic feel to this specific shot.

The white K was a table prop from our wedding and the white lamp is from Target ($15).  Lately, I’ve been appreciating the look of white on white.  And since all our walls are white and must remain that way since we signed a renting contract, it’s a good thing that I can appreciate this look. 

This geometrical wall decor was passed on to me from my last roommate Shawna.  Again, loving the white on white. 

The glass jar with ribbon and twirly whirlies was yet another table prop at my wedding. 

And finally, we reach the main event.  I had a lot of fun creating this collage.  I actually had to destroy, or rather cover up, an old piece of art in order to re-use this canvas, but it needed a change. 

This project emerged from Jon and my desire to organize our plethora of plastic CD cases that were taking up so much space.  We bought some of those thin CD sleeves and began moving our CDs from their plastic cases into the thinner sleeves where we could then fit them all into a couple woven baskets on a shelf.

 

We were about to trash all the old cases when I decided that I wanted to keep the paper inserts that came with all the CDs.  So I spread all the hundreds of cases out on the living room floor and one by one I pulled out the insert to see if it was anything worth keeping. 

Then, after I had chosen my favorites, I ran upstairs to grab my good friend Mod Podge to help me with the final step. 

Section by section, I painted a layer of Mod Podge (matte) over the canvas before placing the square pieces where I wanted them.  As I went along I made sure to smooth down all the corners and air bubbles to prevent as much rippling as possible later on as it dried.  And when everything was in place I painted a thick layer of Mod Podge over the entire surface to bond it all into one cohesive piece of art.   

Oh, rewind:  before I started placing the pictures down on the canvas, I actually painted the outside edges lime green.  Forgot to mention that. 

So now, this collage respresents all the different kinds of music we have accumulated over the years.  The bright mix of colors also allows me to tie in almost any color into my living room color scheme.  And unlike those similarly bright and funky pieces of art that I sometimes drool over at Urban Outfitters, this project only cost me a re-used canvas, old CD inserts, and a half a bottle of Mod Podge. 

Yep, pretty cool!         

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Wall

  1. this is awesome, looks so good! haha i love that you are re-purposing a bunch of stuff from your wedding, i did the same thing. it’s all scattered around my house. i love the diamond shaped mirror and the whole white on white thing in general. annnd your art piece is super cool, such a great pop of color!

Leave a Reply

