Stuck in Saturday

I read a great article in Relevant magazine a few weeks ago.  I know I said that Real Simple is my favorite magazine, which it is, but Relevant is my other favorite.  The article was called Stuck In Saturday and ever since I read it it’s been hanging around in my mind.

In summary, the article described how Holy Week teaches us about waiting.  I know Easter has already come and gone, but God doesn’t move according to my calendar so I’m just now realizing some things related to the purpose of the past couple weeks.

In church we focus a lot on what happened on Friday and Sunday because they both represent universe-altering events.  But what often gets overlooked is Saturday.  What was Saturday like for the disciples and those who were closest to Jesus?  Saturday probably wasn’t a very good day – and that’s the understatement of the last two centuries!  And why was Saturday even necessary?  Why didn’t God just raise Jesus on Saturday and spare everyone the pain and disillusionment that Saturday’s waiting brought with it?  Why?

I’ve been wrestling with my own Satuday lately.  That’s why it is 1:30 a.m. and I am still awake on a work night thinking.  Because while there are so many blessings and things going right in my life right now, there are a few blessings-in-the-process where the waiting feels painfully long and drawn out.  Things that are making the water muddy and thick and clouding up my vision for the good things I have.  Things that I’m attempting to face and have faith for.  It’s a slow walk to the alter sometimes, isnt it?

I’m being quite vague about what I’m referring to, I know, but it’s one of those cases where I’ll gladly share the story once I’m on the other side.  In fact , I’m sure I’ll be so eccstatic that I’ll be sharing the story with random strangers and anyone who will listen to me.

Isn’t it beautiful how it always turns out that way?  The Lord tells us that those who hope in Him will not be put to shame.  Saturday will not last forever.  The cycle will come full circle.  Death and mourning are naturally followed by new life and gladness.  Thank you Easter for this lesson.  Lord help me trust you in my Saturday.

