The Hunt For A Fashionable, Modest Swimsuit

For over a year now I have been actively searching for the perfect one-piece or tankini swimsuit.  You may wonder why this search has gone on for so long.  Well, where do I even start?

I’ll start with the size issue.  For one, 99% of all places that sell one-piece swimsuits only make them in size 6 and up.  This means that I have a very small chance of finding the perfect suit to begin with.  And what kind of prejudice is that anyway?  I’m not complaining about my size, but I’m complaining about the fact that if you are on the “skinny side” it is entirely impossible to find a cute, modest suit…until now – I’ll get to that in a moment.

Secondly, the prices.  There are a few places that sell cute one pieces, but the amount they are asking you to spend on a rather small amount of material that you will likely wear for 3ish years (or probably less) before it gets ruined, faded, lost or just outdated is ridiculous.  I don’t know about you but I am not looking to spend between $150 – $200+ on a swimsuit.  I have bills to pay.

Lastly, most of the one-piece swimsuits I’ve come across are much too speedo-ish.  This is a problem because in a speedo with my hair slicked back I happen to closely resemble a 16 year old boy in a singlet dressed for a high school wrestling match.  Yeah, not exactly what I’m going for.

BUT…I have been SO PLEASED to see that this year modest swimwear is making a comeback!  Hallelujah!  And not only is it modest, but the trend seems to be bringing back retro-fit suits like the ones that were popular in the 1960’s.  We’re talkin’ ruffles, swim-skirts, and high waisted glory.

Finally, I will be able to go to the beach or the pool feeling cute and confident rather than wondering if I’m exposing too much skin or feeling uncomfortable having to wear a tank top and board shorts over my bikini when it’s 90 degrees outside.

So here are some of my favorite finds for this season.  They are fun, feminine, decently priced and they come in a good range of sizes: generally XS-XL.  So enjoy!

My overall favorite online site: DownEast BasicsThey sell tops and bottoms seperate so there’s the ability to mix ‘n match sizes and patterns.  love.  The styles are oh so feminine and fashionable.  And they give you a lot of coverage without being frumpy.  The tops sell for $32.99 and the bottoms for $22.99 each.    

I can’t decide between this one…

Or this one…

What do you think?

Oh and I love this one too…

I also like…

Victoria’s Secret, $100

Urban Outfitters, $89

Forever 21, $19.80

I’m not sure I’m crazy about the whole Monokini fad, but for $20 if you like it, it’s a great deal!

Good luck finding your perfect suit for this summer!

5 thoughts on “The Hunt For A Fashionable, Modest Swimsuit

  1. hahaha i highly doubt you EVER look like a 16 year old boy! i LOVE that first image, all the suits you found are great. i am officially inspired to buy a one piece 🙂

  2. Pingback: Still On The Hunt For Modest, Fashionable Swimsuits « World At The Wayside

Leave a Reply

