Gripes Be Gone

I’ll be honest.  My week has been really good.  I’ve started off every morning this week with a cup of coffee (2 parts milk, 1 part coffee – for Cameron’s sake) and a few pages of my book.  Today I read a few too many pages of my book and ended up with ten minutes left to get ready for work.  I think it’s just practice for when I have the baby because right now my entire shower and get ready routine takes me an hour and fifteen minutes if I decide to do something with my hair…Eek!

I think my week has been so good because I’ve had a much different outlook on things than I have in weeks past.  Instead of seeing things that need to be done around my house as daunting tasks, I’ve seen them as opportunities to serve my husband.  I’ve also taken more personal responsibility over those tasks rather than internally wishing that Jon would do them so that I don’t have to.

I think pregnancy has a way of making you feel entitled to be selfish – at least it has for me.  When you don’t feel good physically and when you are a ping pong ball emotionally, it’s easy to expect other people to take care of you.  Not that it’s bad to accept help and care from others, but once you feel fine again, sometimes the victim mentality lingers a bit too long and you start expecting the coddling to continue.  And all that usually results in a pretty bad attitude.

The chapter I read today was all about attitude and the tendency to gripe, grumble, complain and nag.  The Bible says this about a nagging wife:

A quarrelsome wife is as annoying
as constant dripping on a rainy day.
Stopping her complaints is like trying to stop the wind
or trying to hold something with greased hands.
(Proverbs 27:15-16)

Its better to live alone in the corner of an attic
than with a quarrelsome wife in a lovely home.
(Proverbs 25:24

I don’t know about you, but those verses make me cringe.  Who wants their husband, or God for that matter, to have that kind of opinion about them?  Not me.

So, as my book challenged me to do, I put a rubber band on my wrist this morning.  I’m supposed to wear it for 21 days and every time I gripe, grumble, complain or nag I’m supposed to move the rubber band to my other wrist.  The action of having to move the rubber band is supposed to help me notice when my attitude needs adjusting.  So far I haven’t had to move it once…but I work in an office building where I have 5.5 human interactions in a eight hour work day so I’m not sure I’ve had many opportunities at work to complain to anyone yet.  If I did, I’m sure I would have moved the rubber band already…

I posted a Bible verse in my cubicle this morning to help remind me to keep my thoughts centered on positive things as well.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.  (Philippians 4:8)

So, what about you?  Want to take the 21 Day Challenge with me?

One thought on “Gripes Be Gone

  1. Pingback: The Rubber Band Reminder & The Thankful Journal « World At The Wayside

Leave a Reply

