DIY Changing Pad

I always think of doing the step-by-step pictures for a blog post AFTER I already complete the project.  It probably would have been nice for this one, wouldn’t it?

In the end, I’m not sure this project really saved me any money like I hoped it would, but I did end up with a custom made changing pad and a little bit of self satisfaction.

At my local craft/fabric store, I bought yard of foam and enough oil cloth to cover it.  Then I used a simple needle and thread because I don’t know how to use a sewing machine.  I sewed two sides inside out, then turned the fabric right side out and sewed the final side shut.

Oil cloth is a great fabric because you can easily wipe it clean with a wet rag and it’s really sturdy material.  (Think picnic table cover at grandma’s house).  A lot of the changing pads you can buy in the store come with fabric covers – I know I’m not a mom yet but that just sounds messy to me.

So ta-da!  There you have it!

Leave a Reply

