Pregnancy Recap

Last week I hit the one-month-to-go mark.  BabyCenter.com sent me my informational email about being 36 weeks pregnant and I think I’ve officially come to the place where I am ready to have this baby.  All the planning is done, all the research completed.  I’ve organized every inch of my apartment three times.  I’ve done a lot of walking, a lot of vinyasas and triangle poses that looked a whole lot less silly when I was doing them with my un-pregnant body.

Side Note: The prenatal yoga DVD I’ve been using is awesome!  I love the stretches they do and it’s fun because watching three ladies named Shiva, Britta and Poppy in spandex body suites doing pregnant yoga will make you chuckle, I promise.

I’ve also spent a lot more time in our tiny bath tub than I ever imagined possible, just trying to ease some of the aches and pains out of my back and my body.  I found that Epsom Salt seems to help with that too.

I’ve forced prenatal vitamins down my throat no matter how queasy I was feeling and I’ve done my best to eat more green leafy veggies with dinner even when all I’ve really wanted is some good old fashioned Kraft macaroni & cheese.  And then, once dinner is over, Jon has run to the store numerous times just before they close to buy me an array of sugary cereals like Lucky Charms and Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs because sometimes after some green leafy veggies you just really need a treat.

In the beginning, I craved orange juice, oranges, Lucky Charms and corn dogs.  Lately it’s been pineapple and pineapple-coconut shakes from Natural Cafe (which are basically just pineapple, pineapple-coconut juice and vanilla ice cream-YUM!  You can finish reading this post later on if you want to go make one right now.)

I’ve spent some time reading What To Expect When You’re Expecting, The Birth Book by Sears, The Breastfeeding Book by Sears, The Vaccine Book by Sears (Can you tell I like these Sears people?) and The Happiest Baby On The Block.  I also have The Baby Book by Sears on hand, but I haven’t gotten around to reading that one yet.

Jon and I took an amazing birth class by a woman named Kathy Tuck who has been in the biz for over 30 years now.  The class was every Monday night for six weeks along with seven other first time parent couples.  I even liked Kathy so much that she’s going to be my doula during labor.

I’ve spent moments in frustrated tears because of some of the life decisions I’ve had to make for my son before I even get the chance to meet him.  I’m not sure there has ever been so much black and white information available to expecting parents as there is these days.  The internet is such a blessing and such a non-blessing at times.  Topics like circumcision, vaccines and sleep methods are just a few that made my head spin.

But, I’m feeling pretty accomplished, really.  It’s true what they say: The years are short, but the days are long.  This year seems to have flown by, yet the days…sometimes the days… they seem to drag. on. forever.  Sometimes I arrive to work and by 10:00am I’m already asking myself if it’s 5 o’clock yet.  But I’ve made it.  I’ve made it 8 whole months of being pregnant and now it’s just the final countdown until I get to see what Jon+ Erin really looks like.

Looking back over this pregnancy, it’s been quite an adventure.  Even in the difficult things, there’s been some kind of good that has emerged as well.  For example, even though not feeling well sometimes wasn’t fun (understatement), I got to experience the love and support of my husband in ways that I haven’t been able to before.  I’ve also been able to learn a lot about myself and I definitely have more compassion for single moms because I can’t imagine going through all of this without someone caring, loving and supportive by my side.  I have also banned myself from watching commercials on TV for the Humane Society.  Gosh, those commercials are just so sad!!!  Have you seen them?  Gosh, they are so sad!

For Christmas, Jon surprised me by taking me away for two nights to El Colibri, the hotel in Cambria that we stayed on our wedding night.  On Saturday we had plans to go see the Elephant Seals on the beach in San Simeon and just before we left he told me to go pack a bag just in case we didn’t come back.  It was amazing.  We couldn’t travel to see family this Christmas because it’s too close to my due date, so we spent Christmas as just the two of us, relaxing together as one of our last weekends ever as just us two.

Upon arriving home I managed to continue my relaxing (NOT!) by coming up with a ginormous to-do list of cleaning and home projects.  Oh sigh.

Cameron’s little kicks have turned into BIG kicks and sometimes they just feel so normal now that I almost forget that I’m about to actually have a baby.  Almost.

Pregnancy has been beautiful and amazing and yet at the same time I’m sort of glad that I will likely only do this a couple more times in my life.

Leave a Reply

