Re-Emerging: Life With A Baby

Okay, so the time has come!

My baby is five weeks old, which means I’ve come to the end of my free pass to simply stay at home and care about nothing else besides just caring for him and telling him how absolutely wonderful he is.

These first five weeks have been a blessing: so many friends from church brought us over delicious meals to help ease the burden of worrying about cooking as we got the hang of things.  People like my best friend and our parents came to visit and help us out.  Especially helpful was their generosity in taking a shift or two during the night with Cameron so that we could get some extended hours of sleep.  Oh, how can I properly thank those people for being awake at 3am so that I didn’t have to for a night or two!

But, this week I’ve felt like a baby bird getting booted out of the nest.  It feels like the time has come to branch out now and figure out a daily routine for life with a baby.

Yesterday I went on a walk downtown with a friend.  I quickly learned that while I may be very familiar with caring for Cameron inside the walls of my apartment, venturing out into the wilderness of downtown with a baby is whole other kind of experience.  So goal number one: get out of the house!  The only way to get comfortable with this one is to fling myself out into society and learn as I go.

Goal number two: start meal planning.  Thanks to the advice of a friend, I’m going to pick a day of the week to do all my grocery shopping.  Before I do that, I’m going to have already planned out lunch and dinner for the week.  Not sure where you go to find the best recipes but right now I’m especially liking The Pioneer Woman and Simply Recipes.  Good stuff people, good stuff.

Goal number three: find a way to motivate myself to get things done.  If I had an iPad I’d be set because apparently there is this amazing app that allows you to make a to-do list and then give yourself a gold star once you’ve completed a task.  As for me, I’m going to have to figure out a way to do this the old fashioned way with some gold star stickers or maybe just a black pen and a piece of paper if going out and buying stickers seems too impractical.  So, first thing on my to-do list: make a to-do list.  Better yet, make a standard to-do list for every day of the week with different chores and activities that need to get done on a regular basis, then add in any extra things that may come up.

I will admit, it is a bit intimidating trying to figure out how to live life with a baby.  The right balance is hard to find.  And once you find it, it seems like it might be even harder to keep it.

But I’m just at the beginning of it all.  So, all you seasoned mommas, how did you make the transition?  I’d love to hear any helpful tips, tricks or advice!

3 thoughts on “Re-Emerging: Life With A Baby

  1. It is easy to get wrapped up in your baby, especially when they are so little and new. I am curious how you are preparing to alter your life as the child gets older. I am also curious how you planned for your little one. I wrote a blog on preparing for a new addition to the family, I would be interested on what your thoughts are regarding my tips and if you did any of them. mybabybuddy1.wordpress.com/

  2. You don’t need an iPad! I just got into rememberthemilk.com, which is an online to-do list. There are multitudes of websites though with a bunch of different features and ways to get organized (although they all seemed more or less the same to me). And you can sync them up with your phone and use them from anywhere. I have always been a to-do list lover, but with several different jobs and projects I am involved in now, I finally decided to update my old pen and paper approach.

Leave a Reply

