Learning To Love A More Simple Life

Last Tuesday morning, I was walking back from the grocery store.  Cameron was happily sleeping in his stroller.  The storage compartment of the stroller was packed full of veggies I’d bought to make a massive chopped kale salad that would last me and Jon through the week.  The sun was shining.  It was a pleasant 74 degrees farenheight.  Yes, 74 degrees farenheit in FEBRUARY!  California…it’s a beautiful place.  It was around 2 o ‘clock in the afternoon if I remember correctly.

It had taken me most of the morning to get ready to go to the store.  Luckily I had been smart and decided to take a shower the night before while Jon held Cameron so that my next day routine would be a bit easier.  So upon waking, I fed Cameron, then changed him and found him something to wear.  Then I spent an hour or so going back ‘n forth between picking him up when he started to fuss and trying to do basic tasks like getting dressed and swiping on some mascara.  After that phase of the morning was complete, I eventually made it downstairs to the kitchen where I spent another hour or so going back ‘n forth between picking Cameron up, feeding him, changing him and getting some breakfast and coffee.  By noon I had finished my breakfast and coffee.  So off to the store I went!

So on my way home from the store, I was in a texting conversation with a friend (texting while pushing a stroller is still legal in California) when she asked me, “What are you doing today?” I had to stop and think a moment…I didn’t have any scheduled plans for once I got home.  In fact, upon arriving home I figured I needed to feed Cameron and then between swinging and bouncing him around I would probably spend the rest of the afternoon chopping up the veggies for the salad before Jon came home.  Who knows, if I had a couple extra minutes I might grab a snack and watch the first half of Ellen or something.

Life is so different right now.  It’s so simple.  I don’t have a lot of plans.  I don’t have any big accomplishments to share about at the end of the day except to brag about Cameron for his and maybe want a little credit for making a good salad.  While I was pregnant I was really wondering if this season was going to be one of stress and sadness just dealing with such a big transition.  I don’t know, sometimes I’m not the best with change.  But so far it’s been quite the opposite.  Of course there have been some downs to go along with the ups, but overall this has been such a time of deep happiness and peace.  I love being a mom.  I love having the grace from God, from society and from myself to just soak up this experience right now and not worry about much else besides taking care of my little boy and my husband and maybe writing a blog here or there.  Actually, if you knew how many times I sat down to write this post, you would laugh.  This post was literally written a few words at a time over the coarse of about a week.

But it’s all worth it.  I’m feeling a lot more like a Mary than a Martha these days.  I’m feeling a lot more content.  Sure, at times it’s frustrating to think that “All I did today was keep a baby alive and chop a salad,” but then again that’s just the Martha in me throwing a fit.  The Mary tells me that I’m doing exactly what I should be doing today.  That everything has a season, turn, turn, turn.  That this current season is about learning to love the simple things in life and as a result, learning to love more deeply.

And seriously, have you seen my baby?  What’s not to love!

One thought on “Learning To Love A More Simple Life

Leave a Reply

