Gimme Some Summer

Ahh, summer.  My favorite time of year!

And since Jon doesn’t start school again until mid-September, my summer gets to last a few weeks more.

This summer Cam and I have been visiting the local heated pool, going on walks with friends, hanging out at the beach, running errands around town and enjoying lazy mornings and sometimes days at home.

Cam had his first plane ride in June when we visited Colorado and a couple weeks ago we experienced our first plane ride without Jon when we flew back to SLO from Spokane.

Cam is a pro plane-rider.  He charmed the people in our section and slept enough that I made it through a whole edition of Sky Mall (good boy Cam!).

The man on our second flight was a 40ish looking guy in the military.  He took an immediate interest in Cam and began asking me a bunch of questions.  Come to find out, this man lost his two year old son, Sean, years ago.  His son and wife were in a car accident.  The mom was driving.  She survived, but their son didn’t.  Then I noticed he wasn’t wearing a wedding ring and he described how his marriage had fallen apart.  My heart ached hearing him describe what had happened.

I kept trying to think of how I could explain the Lord’s extravagant love to this man who kept looking at Cam in a mystical kind of way where I was sure a thousand memories were playing back through his mind all at once.  I think my words sounded sympathetic at best.  I talked about how the Lord had rescued me out of an impossible situation and moved me to SLO to give me a new life and heal my heart. I hoped something I said left some tiny seed of hope in him, but I wasn’t sure.

The conversation made the plane ride feel like we were two comrades sitting in a bar, sharing stories about life’s highs and lows.  Except our bourbon tasted a lot like Diet Coke and cranberry juice.  The man said goodbye to us at baggage claim and I prayed for him in my head as he walked away because Jesus is his only hope for healing.

Actually, spiritually speaking, that has been the theme of my summer: it’s all about Jesus.

I keep being reminded of this through all sorts of things:  scripture, sermons, people’s Facebook statuses (no joke!), blogs, conversations and the Holy Spirit.

People go to great lengths to figure out life and the things that happen.  But apart from Jesus, none of it is ever going to make sense.

 

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.

For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him.

He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy.  

For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross.

-Colossians 1:15-20

Actually, when I started writing this blog, I planned on talking about all the things that have happened this summer.  And I don’t mean to belittle all the amazing times we’ve had with friends and family, because we have had a great summer – maybe I’ll write about it all later.

But, really, it doesn’t matter.  It doesn’t matter if my summer has been fun and carefree or if it’s been full of pain, stress and difficulty.  It doesn’t matter.

Jesus is real. His love is real.  He stooped down to our level to bring us back to God.   And he beckons us, constantly, to count our life as nothing compared to the joy of knowing him personally – as our Savior, Lord and friend.

More than any other ambition in my life, I want God to work through me, as to somehow lead others to experience the sweet, sweet, sweet reality of knowing Christ.  And I want to know him more myself.

I fail him everyday, which is all the reason more why I need Him.

Here are some pictures from our summer…

These babies (Everett, Hazel and Cameron) have been hanging out for about 6 months now.  We met at “Mom’s Group” and when mom’s group ended, the good times kept rolling

Jon + Erin

=

According to MorphThing.com, this is what my potential future daughter could look like.  But I’m not convinced because the boy version of me and Jon looks NOTHING like Cam.

Leave a Reply

