Tips For Making Baby Food

For the past three days, my son has been eating almost non stop!

He just started eating Cheerios and those little overpriced puff things from the baby aisle in the grocery store.

But because he was eating so much, I also had to make a few more batches of baby food.

When it first came time to feed Cameron solids, I felt a little overwhelmed.  I think each time you tell a new mom, or any mom in general, that she needs to add something to her life, the gut reaction is always, “How?  I have no time as it is!”  But, like with anything, you end up doing more than you thought possible and it all works out.

So I wanted to share some tips on making baby food for anyone who is headed in that direction.

My Go-To Webistes:

wholesomebabyfood.com – this is the main website I consult for making baby food.  I have a baby food book too, but for some reason I always end up consulting my laptop, rather than the book. Can anyone relate?

weelicious.com – this website is great for inspiring fun flavor combinations

My tools:

Cuisinart Smart Stick Hand Blender

This little gadget is SO CONVENIENT!  I make baby food, smoothies, protein shakes and ice cream shakes with it.  It’s WAY easier to clean than a blender and it doesn’t take up much storage space in your kitchen.  (No, this is not a paid endorsement for this product – I just really enjoy using it!)  And it costs around $35.

I also have two silicone trays with lids that I use for freezing the baby food once I make it.  One I ordered from the baby bullet website and the other I got from a friend.  The other one is from Beaba (pictured below).  When Cam was smaller and ate less food per serving I just used ice cube trays to freeze the food.

After the baby food is frozen, I take it out of the freezer, wait about 15 minutes or so until it’s thawed enough that I can squeeze the cubes out of the tray and put the cubes in a Ziploc freezer bag that I mark with what is in the bag and with the date I made it on.  Done!

Then when it’s time for your baby to eat, all you have to do is thaw out a cube of pre-made baby food!

Hope this helps!

One thought on “Tips For Making Baby Food

  1. Pingback: Tips For Making Baby Food, Part 2 | World At The Wayside

Leave a Reply

