Spaghetti Bake

Last night once Cameron was in bed I was about to make an evening trip to Costco (Jon was at home, of course).  But right as I was grabbing my keys Jon reminded me of the overflowing amount of canned food we still had in our pantry.

So I decided that instead of going and buying more food, I would make a dinner using only the things we already had.  And thanks to this challenge I invented (well, at least I thought I did as I was making it) Spaghetti Bake.  It’s better than regular, boring spaghetti and it’s just as simple.

Heat oven to 350
Boil spaghetti noodles al dente or slightly underdone (they will cook more in the oven)
Then throw the following into a pyrex dish:

Spaghetti noodles
spaghetti sauce
grated cheddar cheese
salt
garlic
can of corn

Then on top sprinkle:

a layer of grated cheddar cheese
a layer of grated parmesean cheese
bread crumbs

Then bake for 30-ish minutes or until breadcrumbs are golden brown.

Basically, there are no rules or exact method for spaghetti bake.  It’s just a mish-mash of ingredients, but it turned out really good and I liked it a lot more than just making noodles and a simple tomato sauce.  It also would have been good with some ground beef or turkey, but we didn’t have any.

We ate this along with a simple salad of jicama sticks, chopped celery and grated carrots.

Simple, right?

Leave a Reply

