Things We Didn’t Need

I’m still reading Bringing Up Boys by Dr. James Dobson.  If you’ve followed my blog for long, a trend you may have picked up on is that when I’m reading a good book I occasionally mention it and these mentions sometimes span six months to a year.  I like to savor a good book, okay?

I’m grateful for this book because I grew up in a house with my mom and my sister and for the most part I know absolutely nothing about little boys.  It’s really a fascinating book because it talks about things I may not consider for another six or seven years, however it’s more beneficial to start thinking about them now.

Throughout the book, Dobson recalls some of his most vivid and enjoyable childhood memories.  The thing that keeps striking me is how simple his most meaningful memories are.  I think that in the age of iPhones, tablets and the growing number of technological devices, one of my most important tasks as a mother will be to teach my children how to slow down enough to really see people, have a good ‘ol coversation and be in the moment without checking their texts every few minutes.  I know I need to discipline myself in that area too because my example will probably be where they learn the most.

Also, Dobson has this line in the book that I can’t quote (because I couldn’t find the specific passage again), but I’ll paraphrase.  As he’s talking about his family’s financial state growing up and how his family sold their second car just so they could “eat” that car over that next year so his mother could afford to stay home with the kids, he recalls being grateful that growing up he didn’t have lots of things he didn’t need.  I think this idea is somewhat foreign to me and lots of parents who so badly want to give their kids all the right things to ensure them a happy and beneficial childhood.  According to Dobson, in many cases the simpler route may be the better one.

Creativity is a mother’s greatest weapon.

Just food for thought.

2 thoughts on “Things We Didn’t Need

  1. I agree! My siblings and I always tease my mom that we have such good imaginations (and like to read) because we never had any toys. An exaggeration, of course, but we did have to learn to play and use things creatively since we couldn’t always have the latest and greatest.

    It also taught me not to define myself by what I owned and not to see those status items as a reason to value or not value others.

    We tried to raise our kids this way too. Well, we had to raise our kids this way because I felt called to stay home full time. I’ve never regretted that and they actually now appreciate why we chose not to try and “keep up with the Joneses.”

    Good food for thought, Erin.

Leave a Reply

