I Cooked A Bird

Did you know that turkeys cost about half as much right after Thanksgiving?

Since we always travel on Thanksgiving, we never end up with any leftovers.

I don’t think I need to tell you how sad this is.  I’m sure you understand.

So yesterday when I was out shopping I decided to buy a bird and the rest of what I needed to make a Thanksgiving feast.  Today, besides going to play group in the morning, I spent my day cooking up a storm!

Jon gave me a few tips on the turkey, I cut some fresh sage from our ‘garden’ and I nearly killed myself by falling off a stool trying to pick the best looking oranges in our orange tree.  Why are the good ones always up so high???

Since Jon has class tonight until 10pm, I’ve truly had all day to get this meal together.  I’ll probably freeze some and the rest we will enjoy this week.

I have to admit, I am feeling pretty accomplished today.  A couple years ago the thought of cooking almost ANYTHING stressed me out and today I cooked a turkey and a bunch of sides.

Now hurry up Jon and get home from class!

JON’S TURKEY TIPS:
-Make a mixture of butter and chopped up sage to stuff underneath the skin
-Stuff the inside of the bird with apples and oranges cut into halves

3 thoughts on “I Cooked A Bird

  1. Very impressive-your first bird! Congrats!
    Might I suggest taking the leftovers and carcass to make a splendid turkey soup later?
    I can offer suggestions if you want. I know this is what I will be doing Saturday. Me in my apron, with the dogs at my feet thinking they are “helping”. Lets be honest-they are just glutinous opportunists! 🙂
    I’m sure Jon will be VERY impressed!

    • I am very impressed – it turned out perfect. perfectly moist. other tip: the best turkey chefs RELY on a thermometer – get one you can leave in the turkey with an alarm and take out when the breast is EXACTLY 160 degrees. If your turkey breast is dry its because you overcooked it.

      We should absulutly make a stock out of the culo as Carrie said!

Leave a Reply

