A Mom’s Balancing Act

I have some very exciting news to share!  You can now find me blogging at A Mom’s Balancing Act sharing guest posts and product reviews!  I am extremely excited about this opportunity so I hope you’ll check it out sometime.

Jenna also has a lot of giveaways on her blog so if you love giveaways you will like what she does.

I started my blog two years ago after attending a morning prayer meeting at my church.  I’ve always loved to write.  In elementary school  and middle school my journals were my most sacred possessions.  In high school, along with journaling, I wrote poems and song lyrics and stored them in shoe boxes on the top shelf in my closet.  I swore if anyone ever found them that I would move far far away.  Before I moved to California I cleaned out my closet and I ripped those notebook pages up into a million pieces because they weren’t very good and they reminded me of all sorts of things I didn’t feel the need to remember anymore.

So two years ago at the prayer meeting, I told God that I really wanted to write more often and I wanted people to hear about him through my writing.  Blogging was still growing in popularity and at the time it seemed like a nerdy thing to do, so I very cautiously decided to start a blog. I wondered if it would be very good or if years later I would feel embarrassed by it and want to rip up the pages again, or in this case, delete them.

Over the past two years I feel like my writing has improved with practice and I’ve had a lot of fun expressing myself and sharing bits and pieces of my life.  Sometimes this blog has helped me process important happenings and milestones or it’s served as something to take my mind off being pregnant.  It’s been a digital journey of a sweet period in my life that I’m glad is documented more than I would have been able to on paper. Writing with a pen and paper is nostalgic, but it’s extremely time consuming and because I’m a bit of a perfectionist the idea of crossing things out and erasing makes me cringe.

So all that being said, I’m glad I started and continued my blog.  During certain seasons I’ve backed off from publishing anything because it’s easy to get wrapped up in accomplishments and sometimes its better to not worry about things like posting another blog or checking another email or Facebook.  Sometimes it’s better for me and my family if I just forget about technology for a while.  It’s good for my heart too at times.  At other times, the keyboard and a good cup of coffee create a sort of sanctuary that I feel so comfortable in.

So thanks for reading this blog, whether you know me personally or whether you stumbled across it online.  It’s fun to share the journey.

I hope you’ll be a part of this next step at A Mom’s Balancing Act too!  (And yes, I will still be posting here as well!)

2 thoughts on “A Mom’s Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

