3 Simple Words To Say Every Morning

75f788e2b9ed11e2bb3e22000a1fb8a8_7

One of the most incredible things I get to do as a mother is teach my children about Jesus.

I get to be the one to tuck them in at night.  The one to teach them how to pray.  The one to teach them how to ask for forgiveness when they’ve hurt someone else.  The one to model what it looks like to love God and follow Jesus.  Each night as I lay my baby boy into his crib I get to whisper into his ear that I love him and that God loves him too.  One of the greatest gifts of being a parent is that you get to be the most important person to someone.  It’s the coolest.  Really, it’s one of the best feelings in the world.  Sometimes it’s the scariest and the best at the same time.

I’m still learning from God and from other women around me what it looks like to create an environment for my family where God is glorified.  It’s not about doing everything right all the time, but it’s about all of us moving in the same direction, towards Jesus.

Something I started practicing a little while ago, was that each morning when I go into my son’s room to get him out of bed I tell him good morning and then I say, “Let’s say, ‘Good morning God!

Sometimes after that we will say a quick prayer for dada or I will say a few things that I’m thankful for that day.  Other times we will pray for longer (meaning, I will pray aloud while Cameron begins to pull all his books off the shelf) or sometimes if I’ve just stumbled out of bed too we will just say ‘Good morning God’ and then go downstairs to get some breakfast.  But saying those three simple words each morning has been more powerful than I expected it to be when I started doing it.  Simply remembering God as we do our thing around the house each morning is powerful.

inner voice

I saw the above quote last week and it really stuck with me.  It’s so true.  Again, it’s an incredible honor and ridiculously scary at the same time.  Each mother has so much influence over her children.  Over the next five or six years (at least) Cameron will hear my voice more than anyone else’s.  His inner voice will either be built around complaining and negativity or it will be built around the good stuff.  Not to say that I never complain or say negative things (I’m a real person too!), but I’m continuously trusting the Holy Spirit to help me grow in this area for my own sake and for the sake of my family.

So with things like saying, “Good morning God!” each morning with my son, it’s my prayer that this will become part of his inner voice; his default setting.  I pray it gets stuck in his head and when he’s older he remembers what his mama taught him: that choosing God each morning is simple.  That saying those three little words can set a whole day of praise into motion.

Try it.  It works!

l

P.S. – Lately I’ve been hooked on All Sons & Daughters Pandora station.  It’s lovely.  I recommend it.  It’s another thing that’s been helping me set some praise into motion.

One thought on “3 Simple Words To Say Every Morning

Leave a Reply

