Abortion A Symptom, Not A Solution To The Oppression Of Women

I’ve never been able to put some of my feelings about this topic into words, but I stumbled across an article today that beautifully captures it.

I understand that abortion is a complex issue.  One that is social, spiritual, political and personal.  But women fighting for the right to kill their own children just seems like they are fighting the wrong fight.

13301191-large

Please hear me when I say that I don’t have some fierce hate towards anyone who has had an abortion.  I’m not trying to be self righteous when I say this, but truly my views on abortion do not come from a place of judgement towards those who have faced painful circumstances.  To be honest, had I found myself pregnant in high school or college I truly don’t know what I would have done.

But what I do know is that, my religion aside, watching throngs of women stand with picket signs demanding the Right To Choose has always struck me a bit funny.  Funny as in ‘off’ or as in ‘odd.’  There’s so much passion, so much conviction, so much anger towards anyone wanting to take away that precious choice.  But all I see sometimes, is a group of females demanding that their fellow independent women be allowed the right to kill their own children.

If the scenario was flipped and it was men in America picketing that they should have the right to have their unborn child aborted, despite what the mother wanted, don’t you think that women would be outraged?  Would it take this kind of radical scenario to help women see how ridiculous, and sad, their demands are?

Am I for making abortion illegal?  I don’t know.  Probably not.  Thinking about it all makes my head spin because it would be such a change in the structure of America that I don’t know where to begin… I don’t think legality is even where the conversation should begin.

But…I am not for abortion either.  For many reasons.

Anyway, that is all just my opinion, but you should read the article.

And if you don’t like my opinion, I shall respectfully say that this is my blog and I write what I want to.  Please leave a comment, but keep it tasteful.

READ THE ARTICLE

2 thoughts on “Abortion A Symptom, Not A Solution To The Oppression Of Women

  1. Erin, very tasteful post on a difficult subject indeed. I can appreciate your point of view regarding the oddity of women passionately picketing for rights that from some perspectives is counter intuitive to our physical make-up.
    From another point of view, I find it extremely odd to find people who believe in the right to life threatening others with bodily harm or bombing clinics to “save lives”. Seems a bit counter intuitive on the other side. Furthermore I find it interesting that some “pro-life” people approve of the death penalty and are comfortable with abortion in cases of rape, but not otherwise. If we in fact believe that there is a sanctity to life, all life, who then are we to decide which life is relevant and which is not?
    I personally am very blessed and lucky that I have never had to make such a difficult decision because I know women who have had to and it has not been easy.
    Again, thanks for a thought-provoking post.

  2. Carrie, thanks for the comments. I myself actually believe in the death penalty even though I’m not a fan of a lot of the abortions that take place. There is a difference between someone who has committed a crime out of their free will receiving punishment and a brand new life being terminated because that life is still truly innocent.
    I know that’s not all you were saying but I wanted to add my two cents to that conversation.

Leave a Reply

