How I Found Out I Was Pregnant With Baby 2

images

Seven months had passed by.  Slowly.

On December 31st, Jon and I decided we were open to the idea of having another baby.  Cameron was nearly a year old and maybe all the magic of New Year’s Eve had gotten to us, but that night as we stayed up late talking, we decided that we were ready to pull the goalie, so to speak, and allow our family to grow.  It was exciting and a bit nerve wracking.  I went to bed that night thinking that I would pregnant within a month or two.

But that’s not what happened.

After a few times of swearing I was pregnant, seven months, and about fifty pregnancy tests later, I started to get worried.  On one hand, I was relieved that we hadn’t gotten pregnant yet considering Jon’s timeline for graduating college in December, but on the other hand, not being pregnant was eating away at me.  Once the desire to have a second child set it, it was impossible to unwant it.  It was consuming me and I dreaded the week prior to my period each month when my mind would race, wondering if this month was going to be the month my life would change forever, or not.

This might sound over-dramatic.  I mean, we did get pregnant and have a baby once before, so why wouldn’t it happen again?  But the longing for a child is not as much logical as it is primal.  In the same way you sometimes feel like, “If I can’t eat a cheeseburger right now, I will die!” wanting a baby can feel similar; “If I can’t have a baby right now, I will die!”

Then, in the midst of wanting a baby and wanting my husband to graduate, like yesterday, God started to surface some really deep things in my life.  Things that I’d stuffed under the bed for years.  At first it felt scary and unmanageable, but then it felt like freedom as I saw how the Lord healing this area of my life would directly answer many prayers.

So one night, actually the night that the Lord surfaced this stuff I’m referring to, I finished reading my book, brushed my teeth and climbed into bed.  Jon, of course, was at the wooden desk in our bedroom working away.  So I said goodnight and I snuggled down into my covers.  Since I was still feeling a bit raw from my time with the Lord, I decided to pray about it all before drifting off.

But I didn’t get to finish because about thirty seconds into my praying the Holy Spirit clearly interrupted my thoughts and told me, “Your womb is blessed.

WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?

Okay, I don’t know about you, but even though I love God and seek him and want to hear from him, it’s not every friggin’ day that the Holy Spirit speaks to me in such a clear, startling fashion.  However, the second it happened, I knew it was from Him because

#1 – I wasn’t even thinking or praying about having a baby.  I was praying about an entirely different topic.

#2 – Erin Kidwell would never use the phrase, “Your womb is blessed.”  Seriously, besides the Holy Spirit, who uses language like that???

So I sat up in bed feeling excited, a little stunned, happy and hesitant.  I cleared my throat and said, “Um Jon…”  “Yeah?” he replied back.  “So…the Holy Spirit just told me that my womb is blessed.”  “What?”  “Exactly.”

We spent the next few minutes discussing what that could possibly mean.  Did this mean I was pregnant right now?  Or did it just mean that the Holy Spirit wanted me to know that everything was okay and that I could stop worrying about getting pregnant.  Something in me wanted to believe that I must be actually pregnant, but Jon reminded me not to get my hopes up.  He had seen me get disappointed six times in a row so I think his protective instincts were kicking in and trying to keep me from more hurt.

I went to bed that night feeling peace because either way I had just heard something significant and wonderful.  Everything was going to be okay – God himself had told me.

The very next day I started experiencing dull cramping in my abdomen and hot flashes.  Weird.  But I still tried not to read into it too much.

Eleven days later though I took my 9,672nd pregnancy test but this one showed TWO little pink lines!

The moment I found out was less epic and emotional as I thought it might be.  With Cameron, finding out was such a shock that I think I almost had a heart attack.  This time though, probably because of the seven months of waiting, I took my time receiving the news.  It took a few days for me to actually believe that it could be real.

It did, however, become more real when Jon, being quite the scholar he is these days, decided to do some research and some math.  What we found pretty much blew my mind.  Basically, based on my cycle and blah, blah, blah, it’s very probable that when the Holy Spirit spoke to me, was precisely when the fertilized egg could have actually implanted into my uterus.  This would also explain the symptoms that appeared the following day and the timing of the positive pregnancy test.

Crazy.

Now, over the past few weeks, as I’ve felt sick, then better, then sick again, this story continues to grow more near and dear to my heart.  I know that every child is from the Lord, but that became so real to me when the Lord REALLY SPOKE TO ME.  He told me that my womb was blessed and then in reality it was blessed.  He told me before it was possible for anyone to know.  THE LORD heard all my prayers for a baby and at just the right time he allowed it to happen.

The Lord has done a lot for me in my life and that is a radical understatement, but this is just one of those things I know that I will never forget.  And I’m excited to tell this child about how they were truly a gift from the Lord.

“I prayed for this child, and the LORD has granted me what I asked of him.”  ~1 Samuel 1:27

15 thoughts on “How I Found Out I Was Pregnant With Baby 2

  1. So very cool and just shows the power of the Holy Spirit! I had a similar situation of waiting and waiting, when the implantation happened I almost fell to my knees and had to lay down. It was as if God was saying “this is the day”… it was so amazing and refreshing to have God who can calm our fears.

  2. I think what I love best about this story and your experience Erin, is being reminded how when we “let go” and create a space in our lives for God to enter, that is when miracles really transpire. Letting go of our own mission or intention is the hard part…or so I have experienced.

  3. Or take advantage of some of the already existing
    online marketplaces for arts and crafts, and instantly reach
    huge audiences by selling your art there. And, by diversifying
    your method of generating income, you can even create as many “mountains” as you like.
    If not, you will be asking yourself, “Why am I not ranked higher.

  4. I have been exploring foor a little bit for any high quality
    articles or blog posts on this sort of areaa . Exploring in
    Yahoo Ifinally stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am glad tto convey that I’ve an
    incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.

    I so much unquestionably will make certain to don?t omit this website and provides it a glance regularly.

  5. Interesting article. It’s very unfortunate that
    over the last 10 years, the travel industry has already been able to to take on terrorism, SARS, tsunamis, bird flu
    virus, swine flu, along with the first ever real global tough economy.
    Through everthing the industry has really proven to be robust, resilient along with dynamic, discovering new strategies
    to deal with trouble. There are often fresh problems and the possiblility
    to which the sector must again adapt and behave.

  6. My spouse and i got so lucky that Ervin could deal with his research through your ideas he acquired from your
    own web pages. It is now and again perplexing just to continually be
    handing out tips and tricks which the rest could have been making
    money from. And now we do know we need the blog owner to thank for this.
    The main illustrations you have made, the straightforward site navigation,
    the friendships your site make it possible to create – it’s many spectacular, and it’s aiding our son
    and the family do think this situation is enjoyable, and that’s truly important.
    Many thanks for all the pieces!

  7. Many times, you may not be aware that the item will be coming from
    the other person or company until you check out. It may
    be smart to go with Amazon’s top seller but make sure that you can return your product if
    you so desire. I didn’t miss my i – Pad at all and this new gen fire is even better.
    I recently ran across Amazon’s Mechanical Turk in my unending quest to not have a job.
    ” The parable of The Precious Present is a quiet one to muse upon and sit with, and finally to take into your heart.

  8. I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth
    enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever
    before.

  9. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your weblog.
    You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Thank you!

  10. Hi, its nice paragraph on the topic of media print, we all understand media is a
    enormous source of data.

    online stock accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts افضل شركة تنظيف بجدة online stock accounts شركات تنظيف بالرياض
    online stock accounts online stock accounts
    online stock accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts افضل شركة رش
    مبيدات بالرياض افضل شركة تنظيف بالدمام افضل شركة مكافحة حشرات بالدمام
    online stock accounts تنظيف شقق online stock accounts افضل شركة تنظيف
    موكيت بالرياض online stock accounts افضل شركة جلى بلاط بالرياض افضل شركة
    تخرين عفش بالرياض online stock accounts
    online stock accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts افضل شركة
    تنظيف موكيت بالرياض online stock
    accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts افضل شركة
    جلى بلاط بالرياض
    افضل شركة تنظيف بالدمام شركات تنظيف بالرياض online stock accounts online stock accounts نظافة مجالس
    بالرياض online stock accounts online
    stock accounts online stock accounts
    online stock accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts افضل شركة
    تنظيف موكيت بالرياض online stock accounts افضل شركة تنظيف خزانات المياه بالرياض افضل شركة
    كشف تسربات المياه بالرياض افضل رش مبيدات قبل صبة النظافة
    افضل شركة تنظيف موكيت بالرياض
    online stock accounts online stock accounts
    شركة نظافة بيوت online stock accounts online stock accounts افضل شركة تخزين اثاث بالرياض online stock accounts
    افضل شركة تنظيف بالدمام online stock accounts افضل شركة رش
    مبيدات بالرياض online stock accounts online stock
    accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts online stock accounts

Leave a Reply

